Protect your business from OSHA/EPA fines

Federal vs. State-run OSHA Programs

At the federal level, OSHA has developed standards and regulations that must be met throughout the nation. However, many states have taken over OSHA implementation and enforcement. These states have often tweaked the federal standards to better suit the needs of the workforces in their states. Any changes to the standards and regulations must be as or more stringent than the federal standards and regulations.

Here is a list of states that have taken over enforcement and consultation associated with OSHA standards and regulations. All states not listed here have the OSHA standards and regulations administered and enforced at the federal level.

State-administered OSHA states:

Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, and Wyoming

For specific contact information of the OSHA office in your state, regardless of federal versus state administration, use the OSHA & State Plan Offices dropdown near the bottom of the OSHA homepage.